Cub Scouts (8-10)

Welcome to the Cub Scouts Program

Cub Scouts are youth ages 8-10 who are curious about exploring the world around them. Cub Scouts do a little bit of everything from camping and hiking to community projects and environmental stewardship programs. Through planned adventures Cub Scouts not only grow their skill level but also have the opportunity to personally develop in areas such as social, intellectual and leadership qualities. It’s all about having fun, meeting new friends and developing self-confidence.

A Cub Scout Section is called a “Pack” and youth within a Pack are organized into smaller teams called “Lairs”. Being a Cub Scout means you are part of the planning process, deciding the types of adventures and activities you and your fellow Cub Scouts want to explore.

In addition, a pack may send a Keeo to the Colony as a youth leader, and a Kim may come down from the Troop as a youth leader.

Under the Canadian Path program revitalization, smaller groups are called Lairs. Leadership is shared among the third year Cubs, called Howlers and second years Cubs, called Trackers.

Each grade level of Cub Scouts is named after a wolf characteristic. Runners are Cub Scouts in third grade, Trackers are Cub Scouts in fourth grade and Howlers are Cub Scouts in fifth grade.


Welcome to the Jungle!

Using the Jungle Map of balanced program activities as a guideline, Cubs explore new challenges and plan adventures as a Pack. Together, you and your fellow Cubs will navigate the very same jungle that Mowgli roamed in The Jungle Book. The jungle is a fun place to seek out new challenges that you can face either as a Pack or with your Lair.

Cubs are accompanied by Bagheera, Baloo, Hathi and Akela – symbolic representations selected for the Scouters, who guide and support your Pack and Lair through all your adventures. Each area on the map puts the six program areas of Scouting into practice: Environment & Outdoors, Leadership, Active & Healthy Living, Citizenship, Creative Expression and Beliefs & Values. By planning and organizing with fellow Cubs, you can use Trail Cards to explore fun ways of learning the program areas. For example, you may want to visit Council Rock on the map, which calls for a demonstration in leadership. This will encourage you to think of leadership opportunities to achieve, like bringing a friend to your next Scouting meeting and introducing them to your Lair.

The Jungle Map for the Cub Scout Section depicts the six Program Areas of the Canadian Path as places to visit in the jungle, all inspired by the Cubs’ symbolic framework of The Jungle Book.

Under the Canadian Path program revitalization, Cub Scouts can work at the level appropriate stages of the Outdoor Adventure Skills badges.

Achievement over time in all six activity areas results in a well-rounded young citizens with knowledge and skills in:

  • the outdoors
  • cultural pursuits
  • personal fitness
  • moral and ethical development
  • responding and contributing to her/his local and world community.

With the Cub motto of “Do Your Best” front and centre, Cubs in each “Cub Pack” are encouraged to try new and more challenging activities.

Promise, Law, and Motto

Cub Scout PromiseCub Scout LawCub Scout Motto
I promise to do my best,
To be true to myself,
To do my duty to my country;
To keep the law of the Wolf Cub Pack,
And to do a good turn for somebody every day. 
The Cub respects the old wolf,
The Cub respects him/herself.
Do Your Best

Formerly Known As…

Cub Scouts was formerly known as “Cubs”, and before that “Wolf Cubs”. Cub Scouts was renamed in 2010 to reflect that it is a section within Scouts Canada. The suffix “Scouts” was also added to the sections Beaver Scouts, Venturer Scouts, and Rover Scouts.